AOLers-RootsWeb-L Archives
Archiver > AOLers-RootsWeb > 2009-02 > 1235256641
From:
Subject: Re: [AOL-RW] possible scam/spam warning supposdely coming fromaim.com
Date: Sat, 21 Feb 2009 17:50:41 EST
My first alleged "AIM friend" request came last night. The weird address
was a clincher that it was fake. I deleted it without viewing.
Tech sites have predicted a new wave of malware and methods of deception.
Woody
======================
writes:
I don't know if others are also receiving these but I'm getting emails
telling me that someone I never heard of (different names each time I get a
new
email) has listed me as a friend on AIM and gives me a link to click to
confirm
that the person is my friend or to DECLINE (by clicking a link). I wouldn't
advise clicking the link in these emails -- I have never heard of AOL
sending
out any such emails but these are coming from various addresses at aim.com.
I'd either just delete them or send them to your spam folder if you get any
of
these. This just started recently.
Joan
**************You can't always choose whom you love, but you can choose how
to find them. Start with AOL Personals.
(http://personals.aol.com/?ncid=emlcntuslove00000002)
This thread: