APG-L Archives
Archiver > APG > 2003-12 > 1071087964
From: "Elissa Scalise Powell, CGRS" <>
Subject: RE: [APG] Important Question re Genealogical Website
Date: Wed, 10 Dec 2003 15:26:04 -0500
In-Reply-To: <3FD6E48E.4C422D8E@cynthiaswope.com>
Cynthia,
I have gotten this same letter referring to my own website
www.PowellGenealogy.com and after giving it full consideration I too was
mystified by what exactly they wanted. If I have to work that hard to
understand what someone wants to "sell" me, then off to the spam bucket it
goes. I don't have the time for such puzzles, when genealogical puzzles are
much more fun!
-- Elissa
> -----Original Message-----
> From: CynthiaSwope [mailto:]
> Sent: Wednesday, December 10, 2003 4:18 AM
> To:
> Subject: [APG] Important Question re Genealogical Website
>
> I suspect that perhaps some of you with online presence have gotten a
> letter or something similar. I am completely confused by this. I have
> never received anything like this before, and I am not familiar with the
> company [doesn't mean much] or exactly how
>
> I fit in when I visit the site sending [found in link below, but with
> pages that appear messy to me-perhaps a bad connection]. For someone
> selling internet improvement tools of any type, I wonder how the site
> could look as it did [text is superimposed
> over barely available links], yet the readable text appears professionally
> written. I do not see how my domain name's subject material is related
> to the client site's subject matter [an as yet undisclosed "client"
> wishing to interface] described as
> "about internet filters, monitoring, and web blocking software", and I am
> actually, not at all sure of what it is they are proposing. While I would
> not want to risk the possibility that a larger website utilizing a company
> whose job it is to build links
> has noticed either the always expanding genealogical pages or nurse
> shortage pages [under construction but still getting pretty big] is
> expressing a wish to cross link, I have a native distrust of anyone
> anonymously seeking me out for "mutual benefit" ..i
>
> mean, why not just send me to the cross link desiring client page for
> eval? It sounds, though , on the up and up overall, but is there something
> here I should be wary of before I answer yet or no send me more info? [By
> the way I use a Mac, so viruses are
>
> not such a big issue].
> Thanks to all who take the time to evaluate and reply.
> Cynical Cynthia
>
> Isabel Madow wrote:
>
> > I am contacting you about cross linking. I am interested in
> cynthiaswope.com because it looks like it's relevant to a site for which I
> am seeking links. The site is about internet filters, monitoring, and web
> blocking software.
> >
> > I'll keep the web address confidential and will send it to you only if
> you give me permission to do so. Just let me know if it's OK, and I'll
> send you the web address for your review. If you approve of the site, then
> the intention is to exchange links.
>
> >
> > Looking forward to your reply.
> >
> > Sincerely,
> > Isabel Madow
> >
> > http://www.link-builder.com
> > Experts in Quality Link Building
> >
> > P.S. If for any reason you don't want me to contact you again, just
> email me and let me know that.
This thread:
| RE: [APG] Important Question re Genealogical Website by "Elissa Scalise Powell, CGRS" <> |