APG-L Archives

Archiver > APG > 2004-03 > 1079583220


From: "Richard A. Pence" <>
Subject: Re: [APG] Virus Warning - "RootsWeb" Sending
Date: Wed, 17 Mar 2004 23:13:48 -0500
References: <20040318004658.76721.qmail@web13425.mail.yahoo.com>


Ray:

RootsWeb addresses aren't being used. This virus / worm has been around a
long time and its M.O. is to use the addresses on messages at the infected
computer. Not only does the worm send messages to those whose addresses are
there, it selects one of those addresses and uses it as a bogus source for
the message.

Since you are involved in genealogy and likely have contacts with a number
of people similarly inclined, the chances are pretty good that soon or later
you will get messages with a rootsweb address.

I thought we went through this here several months ago.

Richard

----- Original Message -----
From: "Ray Beere Johnson II" <>
To: <>
Sent: Wednesday, March 17, 2004 7:46 PM
Subject: [APG] Virus Warning - "RootsWeb" Sending


> Hello;
> This is a warning about viruses which are
> using sender addresses from rootsweb.com that
> appear legitimate. In specific, I received a
> message from:
>
> and since I have ancestors who may have come from
> Madeira and have posted messages with queries
> about a John or Joseph DeSilva who was abducted
> from the island in the mid to late 1700s, this
> appeared legitimate to me, except that the
> attachment ended with a .COM extension. That did
> arouse my suspicions, so I scanned the attachment
> before opening it...
> Sure enough, the attachment contained a
> virus;
> W32.Netsky.B@mm which suggests to me that we all
> may want to be very, very careful opening even
> mail which appears to be legitimate. Whatever
> idiot designed this virus must have programmed it
> to troll mailing lists and message boards for
> e-mail addresses, then send itself "from" the
> appropriate site to the target.
> So, beware...
> Ray
>
> =====
> Ray Beere Johnson II - Genealogist
> 279 East Central Street, Suite 259
> P. O. Box 95
> Franklin, Massachusetts 02038
>
>
> FAX: 508-541-6788
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! Mail - More reliable, more storage, less spam
> http://mail.yahoo.com
>
>
> ==== APG Mailing List ====
> The Association of Professional Genealogists
> http://www.apgen.org/publications/apg-l/index.html
>
>



This thread: