APG-L Archives

Archiver > APG > 2006-08 > 1155912951


From: "Elissa Scalise Powell, CG" <>
Subject: Re: [APG] Genealogy.com Scam?
Date: Fri, 18 Aug 2006 10:55:51 -0400
In-Reply-To: <17868456.95601155909675891.JavaMail.servlet@perfora>


MyFamily.com does have a program where you can supply up to four generations
of pedigree information and they will find records about your ancestors in
their own databases using the attach feature of the trees. They print this
in a book and now I understand they can also incorporate your pictures. It
has a money-back guarantee. I don't know the cost of the book nor have I
heard any ads. I do know some of the researchers who have worked on this
project.

Not a scam but nothing replaces good old fashioned, reasoned research in
many different sources including those both on-line and off. Without
examining many different records wrong assumptions can be made or
conflicting data never found. Perhaps those who buy this book are "buying a
vowel" as a clue in their research. But the most likely scenario is that
they are believing the book hook, line, and sinker.

Back in the days when Halberts was the predominant scam before the Internet,
I ordered their book knowing full well what it was: a listing of names and
addresses only. For my mother's rare surname I wrote to all 50 of the names
and found the lost branch of the family. If I had expected it to be a family
history as Halberts advertised, I would have been sorely disappointed.
Knowing how to use each and every research tool as a means for further
knowledge of the family is important.

My .02,
Elissa

Elissa Scalise Powell, CG
www.PowellGenealogy.com
CG and Certified Genealogist are Service Marks of the Board for
Certification of Genealogists used under license after periodic evaluations
by the Board. http://www.BCGcertification.org/


> -----Original Message-----
> From: [mailto:] On Behalf
> Of
> Sent: Friday, August 18, 2006 10:01 AM
> To:
> Subject: Re: [APG] Genealogy.com Scam?
>
> I've never received it...or deleted it without reading, but I know of that
> or at least I think it's the same thing, but ancestry.com or their parent
> company (which is also genealogy.com's parent) myfamily.com is doing
> something like that. Basically you contact them, let them know back as
> far as you can who you are descended from, they do the research (not sure
> if they just use their own databases or what) and put it in a book. It
> could have been legitimate ad from them, but maybe someone else on the
> list is more familiar with that than I am. Supposedly there are ads on
> the radio in some places for that as well, but I say supposedly since I'm
> deaf and never heard one myself :)
>
> Erin
>
> >Did anyone else receive an email from Genealogy.com that said they could
> >publish your family history today for $49.95? "Painstakingly compiled
> from
> >billions of family history records," of course. This seems to me to be
> a
> >revision of a previous scam that was going around awhile ago.
> >
> >
> >Christine L. Sweet-Hart, CG(sm)
> >www.pastmassters.com <http://www.pastmassters.com/>;
> >Dedicated to the rediscovery of and reconnection to Massachusetts history
> >through research, documentation, and preservation.
> >Email:
> >Blog: www.pastmassters.blogspot.com
> <http://www.pastmassters.blogspot.com/>;
> >
> >
> >Certified Genealogist is a service mark of the Board for Certification of
> >Genealogists, used under license by board-certified associates after
> >periodic competency evaluations
> >
> >
> >-------------------------------
> >To unsubscribe from the list, please send an email to APG-
>
> >with the word 'unsubscribe' without the quotes in the subject and the
> body of
> >the message
>
> -------------------------------
> To unsubscribe from the list, please send an email to APG-
> with the word 'unsubscribe' without the quotes in the
> subject and the body of the message





This thread: