APG-L ArchivesArchiver > APG > 2008-07 > 1215958316
From: "Richard A. Pence" <>
Subject: Re: [APG] Double Marriage Licenses
Date: Sun, 13 Jul 2008 10:11:56 -0400
My apologies. I intended to include the year but forgot (3:00 in the
It was May 1916 in Knox and Oct 1916 in adjoining Adair (thanks to a couple
of folks for the geography lesson).
----- Original Message -----
From: "Mitchell Brown" <>
Sent: Sunday, July 13, 2008 6:12 AM
Subject: [APG] Double Marriage Licenses
> All things considered, you've raised some very important questions. Most
> likely the precise answers to them would be relative to the period in
> which those two marriages occurred in Missouri, as marriage laws changed
> often. A published source (1886) found on Google gives some explanation,
> but you would need to consult the actual legislative acts of Missouri to
> get a more definitive answer.
> William L. Murfree Sr., _The Justice of the Peace A Compendium of the Laws
> Relating to Justices of the Peace..._ (St. Louis, Missouri: F.H. Thomas
> Law Book Company, 1886), 37.
> "Chapter III, Section 57. Marriage Law connected with justices in
> Missouri---License---Record.--- In Missouri marriages may be solemnized by
> a justice who must keep a record of such events, and within three months
> after such marriage transmit a certificate of the same with Christian
> names as well as surnames of the parties to the recorder of the county in
> which the marriage took place. There seems to be no territorial
> limitations [citing Rev. Statutes, MO, pp. 554,555, Section 3267, 3270]. A
> license was not required as a preliminary prior to marriage before the act
> of March 26, 1881, which requires the issuance of a license by the
> recorder of the county, and declares that the solemnization of a marriage
> for which no license has been obtained shall be a misdemeanor for which
> the officiating officer or clergyman may be fined not exceeding five
> hundred dollars. A marriage license must be returned within ninety days
> after issuing of the same."
> Consequently, in Missouri, as in other states, a license not returned
> within the prescribed time by law was considered "expired." Subsequent to
> 26 March 1881 and as of 1886, it appears that in Missouri there was a
> limitation of 90 days on the issued license. Current laws of Missouri
> require that a "the marriage ceremony must occur within 30 days from the
> issuance of the license or the license is void."
> I hope this helps.
> Mitchell Brown
> To unsubscribe from the list, please send an email to
> with the word 'unsubscribe' without the quotes in
> the subject and the body of the message
|Re: [APG] Double Marriage Licenses by "Richard A. Pence" <>|