Freepages-Help-L Archives
Archiver > Freepages-Help > 2004-05 > 1085137353
From: "Lucinda Blankenship" <>
Subject: RE: Selling World Connect Trees?
Date: Fri, 21 May 2004 06:02:33 -0500
In-Reply-To: <20040521015618.42917.qmail@web10704.mail.yahoo.com>
It sounds to me more like a research service. They compile information from
many databases about the name you are entering and then give it to you in an
organized format. I wouldn't get too bent out of shape about it. Ancestry
has been selling trees for years. I have a bunch on a CD that came with my
first family tree maker program that I purchased many years ago. I found my
family on that one, submitted by someone else in the "tree". They still
allow the free access that everyone currently has. Or maybe I'm not making
a big enough problem out of this?
Cindy
web site
http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~cindyblankenship
/
-----Original Message-----
From: qvarizona [mailto:]
Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2004 7:56 PM
To:
Subject: Selling World Connect Trees?
I'm not sure where to send this concern, but since many of you on this list
have
trees on World Connect, will start here. This is the link to a page that
really has me concerned. http://trees.ancestry.com/owt/checklist.aspx
(If the link doesn't work, go to ancestry and look for the Family Trees link
on the select bar near top of page.)
On ancestry.com (our sponsor) I came across a notice of a new
product "One Tree", which will combine umpteen+ family trees and other info
"ALREADY COLLECTED" and make them accessable for only $45 for 15 mo. The
intro about the new program explains how to have one's tree included, and
also warns:
"If for any reason you do not want your tree to be part of the new
OneWorldTree service, you must delete it from the Ancestry World Tree
database by tentatively May 21, 2004."
I was curious, so clicked on the "try out" box and was surprised to find
that my World Connect tree was included as part of the Ancestry World Tree
database.
I love rootsweb.com, I understand the need for getting a sponsor, and
coming from a long line of entrepeneurs, I understand profit and loss.
Still, unless I missed something, this OneWorldTree sounds a bit like theft.
I was never given any warning about this, nor was I ever told our sponsor
would start grabbing our GED trees without notice or permission. Maybe
someone can explain why I'm wrong, or why I shouldn't complain.
Joanne
- -------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Domains - Claim yours for only $14.70/year
This thread:
| RE: Selling World Connect Trees? by "Lucinda Blankenship" <> |