GEN-NYS-L ArchivesArchiver > GEN-NYS > 2003-05 > 1053889289
From: Mary <>
Subject: Off topic: Sherwood House Summer Programs, Yonkers NY Cross posted
Date: Sun, 25 May 2003 15:04:04 -0400
Sherwood House Summer Calendar of Free Programs:
June 1stStrawberry Festival1-4 pm
"Samuel Untermyer and His Park"2 pm
Untermyer Performing Arts Council President and Historical Society
Trustee Steve Sansone shares some of the secrets of Yonkers’ own famed
lawyer and his beautiful historic Untermyer Park.
June 22nd“A Front Yard Paradise”: Gardens and 2 pm
Nineteenth Century Domesticity
Nineteenth Century domestic literature characterized cottage gardens
and indoors as a feminine utopia, balancing wilderness and reason,
egalitarianism and refinement. Join Professor Jane Weiss as she brings
this fascinating topic to life and relates it to the families who lived
in Sherwood House!
July 13th"String-a-Bead with Nancy"2 pm
Learn the fine art of restringing and knotting beads with Historical
Society Trustee Nancy Sarmast in a workshop designed for Historical
Society members and friends. Advance registration (914-961-8940) is
required as the number of participants strictly is limited to 10.
September 14th"In Search of the Lenape: 2 pm
The Delaware Indians Past and Present"
Dr. David Oestreicher brings to life the rich heritage, culture,
history and life ways of the people who originally inhabited the
October 5th"Feet, Hooves, and Rails: 2 pm
Transportation in Nineteenth Century America"
Follow the fascinating history of transportation technology in America
as Professor J. Ward Regan blends the story of the Transportation
Revolution into the history of the growth of Yonkers and its surrounding
October 15thFall Festival10 am - 4 pm
Annual Flea Market and Tag SaleVendor space available at $25
For further information call 914-961-8940.
"Joy of Collecting" 1 pm
Ruth Taylor, member of Appraisal Association of America and owner of
“Mostly Memories Tag Sale Service” in Ardsley, will discuss some of the
things collectors need to know.
Appraisals available from 2 to 4 pm at $4 per item.
These programs are free and open to the public!
This presentation is supported in part by Speakers in the Humanities,
a program of the New York Council for the Humanities.
One of the few remaining pre-Revolutionary War houses in the New York
metropolitan area, historic Sherwood House was built about 1740 by
Thomas Sherwood, farmer, constable, and collector of the Town of
Yonkers, on land leased from Frederick Philipse, whose vast manor
extended from Spuyten Duyvil to Croton River. It was purchased in 1801
by Yonkers’ first physician, Dr. John Ingersoll, who lived and practiced
there until his death in 1827. For nearly another century the homestead
was owned by Frederick Weed and his descendants.
The restoration and preservation of this landmark has been carried on
by the Yonkers Historical Society for more than 40 years through gifts
of funds, furniture and artifacts, and the donation of countless hours
of work by many public-spirited citizens dedicated to keeping this
priceless landmark a living lesson in Yonkers History.
Sherwood House is open for tours on Sundays,
June 1st through October 13th, from 1 to 4 P.M.
Closed July 6th and August 31st
For Information Telephone 914-961-8940