Listowners-L Archives

Archiver > Listowners > 2000-09 > 0968413896


From: "Linda Haas Davenport" <>
Subject: Re: Genealogy Rip off!
Date: Fri, 8 Sep 2000 06:51:36 -0500
References: <00bb01c01921$67eeeae0$960c8fd1@bright.net> <007601c01962$4cf52ec0$ea3d77cc@wvi.com> <00ad01c01972$04319ba0$0200a8c0@Linda> <002301c0198c$ebd82220$90328fd1@bright.net>


Here is the message I sent to my lists if you would like to use it or
something like it.
******************
Ladies & Gentlemen there has been a lot of postings about the site:
www.familydiscovery.com on many of the lists. I feel that I should make you
all aware that this site is a subscription site that is charging for access
to free sites. As far as anyone can tell this site has no original
information of any kind.

It uses a process called "shrink wrapping" that causes any page displayed to
look as if it is their site. You can see an example of shrink wrapping by
visiting http://www.askjeeves.com. No matter what link you choose the
askjeeves information is displayed on your screen. The same is true of the
familydiscovery site.

What this site is doing is not illegal, but in my opinion, it is certainly
unethical.

Linda


Home.page http://homepages.rootsweb.com/~haas
Marion.Co.AR http://www.rootsweb.com/~armarion
List hostess for -h.a.a.s/l.e.w.a.l.l.e.n/w.a.s.h.i.n.g.t.o.n n.c


----- Original Message -----
From: Ramona Gayle Woods <>
To: Linda Haas Davenport <>;
<>
Sent: Friday, September 08, 2000 7:04 AM
Subject: Re: Genealogy Rip off!


> Good Linda and All,
> Thank Linda--that is how I feel also.
> But I did not know if I should make my list members aware of this site
> and what it is doing.
> Many of my list members are getting up in years and have been
> researching and sharing family data for up to 25 years. I think it
> awful that their years of research would be stolen.
> Sincerely,
> Ramona
>
>
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: Linda Haas Davenport <>
> To: <>
> Sent: Friday, September 08, 2000 3:38 AM
> Subject: Re: Genealogy Rip off!
>
>
> | This site seems to be charging for links to free sites, such as the
> USGenWeb
> | state and county sites. There has been a ton of discussion about
> this site.
> |
> | My personal opinion is - I think that as responsible list managers
> we should
> | make our list members aware that the information found on this site
> can be
> | found for free. Many of our list members have fixed incomes and they
> depend
> | on the genealogy lists they subscribe to to keep them up to date on
> | genealogy information.
> |
> | Linda
> |
> |
> | Home.page http://homepages.rootsweb.com/~haas
> | Marion.Co.AR http://www.rootsweb.com/~armarion
> | List hostess for -h.a.a.s/l.e.w.a.l.l.e.n/w.a.s.h.i.n.g.t.o.n n.c
> |
> |
> | ----- Original Message -----
> | From: Dan <>
> | To: <>
> | Sent: Friday, September 08, 2000 1:59 AM
> | Subject: Re: Genealogy Rip off!
> |
> |
> | > I am glad this was brought up, I see it has been posted to my
> lists by
> | > members.
> | > I was wondering how people here feel about this. Personally I
> do not
> | > see that is has any relevancy to genealogy on the lists , and cant
> see
> | that
> | > this topic should be going on the lists . But I am only one
> person, what
> | do
> | > you all think ?
> | > Dan
> | > ----- Original Message -----
> | > From: "Ramona Gayle Woods" <>
> | > To: <>
> | > Sent: Thursday, September 07, 2000 4:13 PM
> | > Subject: Genealogy Rip off!
> | >
> | >
> | > > Hi Everyone,
> | > > Has anyone heard of this www.familydiscovery.com?
> | > > I went and looked at this site and it does not seem legit and it
> is
> | > > also expensive to join.
> | > > Anyway I thought everyone should be on the lookout for this
> site, this
> | > > is so sad and makes me angry.
> | > > Sincerely,
> | > > Ramona
> | > >
> **********************************************************************
> | > > *****************************
> | > <<<<<SNIP>>>>
> | >
> | >
> |
> |
>


This thread: