Listowners-L Archives

Archiver > Listowners > 2003-03 > 1047132204


From: "Andrew Billinghurst" <>
Subject: Re: [LO] FW: MAIL ERROR Mailbox is inaccessible or misforwarded
Date: Sun, 09 Mar 2003 01:03:24 +1100
In-Reply-To: <84.be91b79.2b9ac392@aol.com>


On 7 Mar 2003 at 22:54, <> wrote:

> In a message dated 3/7/03 10:26:08 PM Eastern Standard Time,
> writes:
>
> > Not sure I have ever seen a bounce like this one before. Can someone tell
> > me what this means?
> >
> > David E. Cann
> >
> >
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: [mailto:]
> > Sent: Friday, March 07, 2003 10:18 PM
> > To:
> > Subject: MAIL ERROR Mailbox is inaccessible or misforwarded
> >
> >
> > Your attempt to send mail has failed.
> > Mailbox is inaccessible or misforwarded
> > Message was from: <>
> > Message was being delivered to: <>
> > Your message had the following headers:
> >
> > > From Fri Mar 7 22:17:59 2003
> > > Received: from lists2.rootsweb.com (lists7.rootsweb.com [207.40.200.39])
> > > by eris.domainnameservers.net (8.11.6/8.11.6) with ESMTP id
> h283Hx489965
> > > for <>; Fri, 7 Mar 2003 22:17:59 -0500 (EST)
>
> David-
>
> Apparently you have a subscriber whose final destination address is:
> (don't know if that is the address he is subscribed under or
> not). RootsWeb sent the message out to this subscriber and it bounced back
> from the server at digiscape.net or more accurately from
> domainnameservers.net which is identified in a WHOIS search as the same
> thing. The bounce shows that they were trying to deliver the message to
> but that address couldn't be found -- it was inaccessible.
>
> Joan
>
> ______________________________

When it says in the header lines from us, then that is
the email address that it is for. Also when you see an email address
in a header line like that it is an indication that it was a single
email delivery to a domain rather than lots of users at the domain.

The MX for bel.com is

;; ANSWER SECTION:
bel.com. 8788 IN MX 5 mail.bel.com.

AB## they want mail delivered to mail.bel.com

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
bel.com. 8788 IN NS ns.domainnameservers.net.
bel.com. 8788 IN NS ns2.domainnameservers.net.

AB## bel.com uses domainnameservers.net for lookups

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
mail.bel.com. 8788 IN A 66.253.0.2

AB## the IP address for their mail server is ^^^^^^^^^^^^

and doing a reverse lookup of 66.253.0.2 gives
Non-authoritative answer:
2.0.253.66.in-addr.arpa name = eris.domainnameservers.net.

AB## read it backwards
AB## mail.bel.com is actually eris.domainnameservers.net

Thus the mail has been delivered as would be expected.

Doing lookups for Digiscape actually gives the exactly the same
lookup data.

Conclusion? We did nothing unexpected, the mail is not misforwarded,
so either they have their configuration hosed or the mailbox is
indeed inaccessible and the word 'inaccessible' can cover so many
different scenarios. Upshot? Ignore it and let the person bounce
off.

Note: I have done these lookups on a RW server so they show what
settings we have now, though they should be correct though they are
not authoritative as they would come from the ISP.

You can do similar lookups from http://www.dnsstuff.com/

Regards, Andrew
--
Andrew Billinghurst <>
Genealogy mailing lists: http://lists.rootsweb.com/
Ancestry.com--Your #1 Source for Family History Online
http://www.ancestry.com/rd/redir.asp?targetid=702&sourceid=1241


This thread: