Listowners-L Archives
Archiver > Listowners > 2004-02 > 1076491412
From: "George W. Durman" <>
Subject: Re: [LO] Unsubscribing from a mail-list
Date: Wed, 11 Feb 2004 04:23:32 -0500
References: <6.0.3.0.2.20040211001951.07ec21d0@mail.comcast.net><BC4F3DF0.37D04%listpig@earthlink.net>
In-Reply-To: <BC4F3DF0.37D04%listpig@earthlink.net>
Sorry Piglet,
But that's the message I always get when someone's server won't
accept Comcast email -- they always reference Open Relays. I
had the wrong impression about what it was.
Yes, I know it's traceable because it does identify the sending
server as Comcast, for example, but one would have to get the
folks at Comcast to identify the sender by the Id number.
SgtGeorge
At 2/11/04 03:03 AM Wednesday, Piglet wrote:
*********START OF ORIGINAL MESSAGE TEXT*********
>Actually, cable connections aren't open relays.
>
>Open relays let anyone anywhere bounce email through them. Cable
>companies
>are required to permit you to use other ISPs, so they have to permit
>addresses other than their own to pass through them. But they are not
>open
>relays---they do check to see that the mail is coming through their
>own
>connections, and won't accept it if it isn't. The only way, for
>example, to
>use your cablemodem email account when you're away from home is via
>webmail.
>
>The headers show precisely what cable connection the email is coming
>from
>regardless of the address used, so it's still quite traceable.
>
>--pig
>
>On 2/10/04 23:30, shared this thought:
>
> > Yes, I know, Comcast and all other "open relay" service providers
> > are constantly being knocked because this peculiarity of their
> > setup allows spammers to send their junk and put ANY address in
> > the From: header.
**********END OF ORIGINAL MESSAGE TEXT***********
--
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG Anti-Virus (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 7.0.211 / Virus Database: 261.9.0 - Release Date: 2/10/04
This thread:
| Re: [LO] Unsubscribing from a mail-list by "George W. Durman" <> |