OKGEN-L Archives
Archiver > OKGEN > 2000-09 > 0968290671
From: "Alli " <>
Subject: [OKGEN ] Fw: Genealogy Scam
Date: Wed, 6 Sep 2000 18:37:51 -0700
I got this from a friend & thought it was worth passing on.
Alli
----- Original Message -----
From: "Pat" <>
> Hi,
> I got this today and a friend of mine who is a listowner for Rootsweb
> verified it so I guess we ought to be careful about our info. Don't know
> how you'd protect it unless you don't leave it on unattended?? Kinda
scary
> and aggravating!! I have mine on my zipdrive and run the FTM directly
from
> it so I guess unless I had the disk in and hooked up, mine would be safe??
> I don't think it leaves anything on the computer but I don't know?? I
hope
> I'm not telling you wrong but she said they told her it was true.
> Pat
>
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > > > Subj: Genealogy scam
> > > > Date: 09/03/2000 6:30:57 AM Mountain Daylight Time
> > > > From: (Phyllis Fleming)
> > > >
> > > > I received this message after it was forwarded to the INGENWEB state
> > > > coordinator:
> > > >
> > > > About 2 weeks ago we received a complaint from an Archives submitter
> > > > that her materials were found on a genealogy subscription service:
> > > >
> > > > www.familydiscovery.com
> > > >
> > > > The submitter was able to do a little digging and found that they
were
> > > > linking to her files housed on her server, but shrink-wrapped inside
a
> > > > frame so it appears to be THEIR work. About 10 days ago, to
> investigate
> > > > this, I signed up with familydiscovery. To date, I have not received
a
> > > > user id or password to get inside. The registered owners of the web
> site
> > > >
> > > > gave bogus telephone numbers in their registration. One number goes
to
> a
> > > >
> > > > recorded message line; the other to a carpet company. Some of the
> > > >
> > > > adds on their web site bounce.
> > > >
> > > > Standing on the outside and looking through the window, it appears
> that
> > > > several
> > > > folks' web sites have been prize-mined:
> > > >
> > > > http://www.familydiscovery.com/whatsnew.htm
> > > >
> > > > The Storey Co., IA and the Washington Co., PA stuff seem to come
from
> > > > USGenWeb sites. Some of the other IA and NC stuff seems to come from
> > > > non-USGW sites. None of the materials seem to be housed at either
> > > > rootsweb or usgennet.
> > > >
> > > > If anyone out there is or has been a member of familydiscovery -- or
> > > > has been ripped off by them, I ["Joy Fisher" >]
would
> > > > like to
> > > > hear from you.
> > > >
> > > > Permission is granted to forward this message.
> > > >
> > > > =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
> > > >
> > > >
> >
> >
This thread:
| [OKGEN ] Fw: Genealogy Scam by "Alli " <> |