PACAMBRI-L Archives

Archiver > PACAMBRI > 2002-04 > 1017872563


From: "Cathy Baker" <>
Subject: Re: [PaCambri] Genseekers.com
Date: Wed, 3 Apr 2002 17:22:43 -0500
References: <161.b8b1f1b.29dc7379@aol.com> <000f01c1db27$f53ce220$8f2a9f18@chartertn.net> <002001c1db66$d09298e0$a0bca842@newn.ga.charter.com>


You can also block the sender by clicking on MESSAGE and then click on BLOCK
SENDER. It takes a few seconds and then a popup where you will answer YES
and that blocks them from sending you emails. They really are a pain.
Cathy


> Thank You Kenny,
>
> This is the best piece of advice concerning unsolicited email.
> TECHTV has been trying to get this word out for a long time. The
> "no action" action is to simply delete the email, as ANY response
> (including unsubscribe) will tell them they have a hit (an
> active email address). If you want to stop receiving unsolicited
> email, don't respond, just delete.
>
> Jane
>
>
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Kenny Stallard" <>
> To: <>
> Sent: Wednesday, April 03, 2002 09:55
> Subject: Re: [PaCambri] Genseekers.com
>
>
> Deborah, this is a "spam" message. Your e-mail address was
> "harvested" by spider robot. When you answered, that verified
> to the spamer that your e-mail address was active; this is what
> you probably saw as an upload. The spamer will now add your
> e-mail address to his list that he will now sell to advertisers,
> so you will probably receive additional mail. It is best not to
> reply to spam mail or even unsubscribe from that list as this
> also
> verifies to them that your e-mail address is active.
>
> Kenny
> | ----- Original Message -----
>
> I recently received an email from Genseekers.com stating that J.
> McClure, whose email address was , had
> recommended that I
> receive a genealogy trial. I didn't recall a J. McClure as a
> recent contact but have received a lot of help over the past two
> years from generous "cousins", so I decided to check out the
> site. I copied and pasted the link,
> http://www.genseekers.com.
>
> I have Norton Internet Security 2002 (with a Firewall) and
> didn't receive any warnings from them that anything was trying to
> access my computer.
> However, a Microsoft Internet Explorer message suddenly flashed
> on my screen stating
> that my file had been uploaded successfully. As I had not
> requested an upload, this alarmed me.
>
> I immediately left the site and tried to contact J. McClure. My
> email to was returned as undeliverable.
>
> I then contacted Norton for advice and am awaiting a reply from
> them.
> I don't know that something "wrong" happened to me on the
> Genseekers site.
> I do know I was not uploading any files at the time nor had I
> scheduled any to upload later. Because I don't know if one of
> my genealogy databases or email
> address book were compromised, I wanted to warn everyone on the
> list
> 1) about this site in case there is a problem with it and
> 2) not to believe any emails stating I've recommended them for
> a genealogy trial in case they receive one like I did.
>
> I'll update the list when I receive information from Norton.
>
> Deborah Hainley Bonnar
>
> London, England
>
>
>
>
> ==== PACAMBRI Mailing List ====
> Have you signed up on the Surname Registry? If not, go to
> http://www.rootsweb.com/~pacambri/
> and click on "Surname Register" for details.
>



This thread: