PACAMBRI-L Archives

Archiver > PACAMBRI > 2002-04 > 1017875894


From: <>
Subject: Re: [PaCambri] Genseekers.com
Date: Wed, 3 Apr 2002 17:25:17 -0600
References: <161.b8b1f1b.29dc7379@aol.com> <000f01c1db27$f53ce220$8f2a9f18@chartertn.net>


Thank You Kenny,

This is the best piece of advice concerning unsolicited email.
TECHTV has been trying to get this word out for a long time. The
"no action" action is to simply delete the email, as ANY response
(including unsubscribe) will tell them they have a hit (an
active email address). If you want to stop receiving unsolicited
email, don't respond, just delete.

Jane



----- Original Message -----
From: "Kenny Stallard" <>
To: <>
Sent: Wednesday, April 03, 2002 09:55
Subject: Re: [PaCambri] Genseekers.com


Deborah, this is a "spam" message. Your e-mail address was
"harvested" by spider robot. When you answered, that verified
to the spamer that your e-mail address was active; this is what
you probably saw as an upload. The spamer will now add your
e-mail address to his list that he will now sell to advertisers,
so you will probably receive additional mail. It is best not to
reply to spam mail or even unsubscribe from that list as this
also
verifies to them that your e-mail address is active.

Kenny
| ----- Original Message -----

I recently received an email from Genseekers.com stating that J.
McClure, whose email address was , had
recommended that I
receive a genealogy trial. I didn't recall a J. McClure as a
recent contact but have received a lot of help over the past two
years from generous "cousins", so I decided to check out the
site. I copied and pasted the link,
http://www.genseekers.com.

I have Norton Internet Security 2002 (with a Firewall) and
didn't receive any warnings from them that anything was trying to
access my computer.
However, a Microsoft Internet Explorer message suddenly flashed
on my screen stating
that my file had been uploaded successfully. As I had not
requested an upload, this alarmed me.

I immediately left the site and tried to contact J. McClure. My
email to was returned as undeliverable.

I then contacted Norton for advice and am awaiting a reply from
them.
I don't know that something "wrong" happened to me on the
Genseekers site.
I do know I was not uploading any files at the time nor had I
scheduled any to upload later. Because I don't know if one of
my genealogy databases or email
address book were compromised, I wanted to warn everyone on the
list
1) about this site in case there is a problem with it and
2) not to believe any emails stating I've recommended them for
a genealogy trial in case they receive one like I did.

I'll update the list when I receive information from Norton.

Deborah Hainley Bonnar

London, England




This thread: