PACHESTE-L Archives

Archiver > PACHESTE > 2001-03 > 0986016611


From: "John (Jack) M. Dukesbury" <>
Subject: [PACHESTE] Re: PACHESTE-D Digest V01 #85 Re: Genforum
Date: Sat, 31 Mar 2001 12:39:24 +0700
References: <200103272005.f2RK5gP24236@lists5.rootsweb.com>


This is now about the fifth list to which I belong that has posted this
message. I have posted the following personal commentary (edited
version).

Genealogy.com has challenged the party making these accusations to prove

them. I personally doubt their accuracy because it is common knowledge
that you
do not have to be a subscriber to access the databases and search
engines on
genealogy.com. I have done this myself on several occasions and again
just to verify the inaccuracy of the statements being made below. It is
only when you try to access certain databases that
are considered to be proprietary that you are requested to prove -- or
establish -- membership.

I have posted a rather lengthy response to this kind of false accusation

on the NY Erie County List and entitled it "Pro-Ethics or
Anti-Business". I have
seen this type of smear campaign go unanswered on other lists and would
not like
to see it encouraged here.

Jack DUKESBURY
Jakarta, Indonesia


wrote:

> This was received from a person on another list that I am on, and was
> written by someone on that list. We were asked to forward it on to
> other
> lists.
>
> "Ethics:"
> Hi everyone. This came as a message from the listowner for the
> Rockingham,
> New Hamspshire list that I belong to. I thought everyone ought to see
> what
> is going on. Mr. Marston has asked that we send this along to the
> lists we
> belong to so I am doing so. Please read the whole message to see what
> is
> going on. I think at the very least we ought to take it as a warning
> and a
> reminder that not all we find is correct information and just use it
> as a
> tool to look further.
>
> Lee Neilsen in Eastern Utah
>
> *************************
> Dick Marston wrote:
>
> Listers:
>
> I have naively included a link to GenForum for those wishing to post
> and
> respond to Rockingham and Marston surname queries. Furthermore, I have
>
> innocently posted several responses on those forums. Today, I have
> amended
> the link on Rockingham's Queries Index Page to read as follows:
> **If you want still another place to search and post, try the
> Rockingham
> County message board on[genforum.genealogy.com/nh/rockingham/ ]
> WARNING!! Any information which you share on GenForum's message boards
> may
> be copied by Genealogy.com [/FamilyTreeMaker.com] and sold by them for
>
> profit either as data included on a monthly/annual subscription or as
> a CD
> for purchase. Much of this information is totally unreliable. Caveat
> emptor
> [Buyer beware]. In order to see what, if any, information
> Genealogy.com has
> acquired from your voluntary contributions, you will first need to
> subscribe
> to their service available to paying members only.**
> I am SO angry I could spit!! Until I started checking up on this
> fiasco
> about my father's pedigree, I had NO clue that Genealogy.com was doing
> this.
> I want to declare WAR! I can't get through to their leaders, but I
> sure
> would like to get through to their potential customers and unwitting
> voluntary contributors.
> Please feel free to copy and paste [or send] this warning wherever,
> or to
> whomever, you think might do the most good. You may post it as your
> own
> message or as a quote from me, whichever you prefer.
> Your help will be greatly appreciated."


This thread: