PAMCKEAN-L Archives

Archiver > PAMCKEAN > 2001-03 > 0984485254


From: The Lee Family <>
Subject: Genealogy site fraud alert -FamilyDiscovery.com
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2001 06:07:34 -0600


This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
--------------89974BDF123549DE5F6BEABF
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

Good morning. I received this genealogy site fraud alert from the
Cattaraugus County list and thought I would share it.

--------------89974BDF123549DE5F6BEABF
Content-Type: message/rfc822
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Content-Disposition: inline

Return-Path: <>
Received: from lists2.rootsweb.com ([63.92.80.32]) by mta02-srv.alltel.net
with ESMTP
id <>;
Mon, 12 Mar 2001 22:06:17 -0600
Received: (from )
by lists2.rootsweb.com (8.10.1/8.10.1) id f2D3xO124298;
Mon, 12 Mar 2001 20:59:24 -0700
Resent-Date: Mon, 12 Mar 2001 20:59:24 -0700
X-Original-Sender: Mon Mar 12 20:59:24 2001
From: "Laura Greene" <>
Old-To: "Cattaraugus County" <>
Subject: Genealogy site fraud alert -FamilyDiscovery.com
Date: Mon, 12 Mar 2001 19:57:03 -0800
Message-ID: <>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="iso-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook IMO, Build 9.0.2416 (9.0.2911.0)
Importance: Normal
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V5.00.2919.6600
Resent-Message-ID: <>
To:
Resent-From:
X-Mailing-List: <> archive/latest/139
X-Loop:
Precedence: list
Resent-Sender:

Dear Listers......
I have received a notice from another rootsweb list an alert for a site
called www.familydiscovery.com, a subscription service that on the surface,
looks like a wonderful site to find genealogical records. I am passing
along what I discovered about this site to you. It turns out this site IS A
SEARCH ENGINE ONLY, despite its high monthly subscription costs, and shows
links that actually are free to access, such as rootsweb.

If you read the fine print (see below) on their last page,
they admit to being essentially a search engine only - and have the adacity
to charge $7.99 per month for it!! A simple search using www.goto.com or
any other main search engine will return the same hits, and these search
engines are free. I think we need to alert all Rootsweb lists and genweb
site coordinators that this is happening so that no one makes the mistake of
subscribing to this (what I would consider unethical) business.

Here is the fine print for www.familydiscovery.com web site:
" Disclaimer:
FamilyDiscovery.com pages contains EXTERNAL links which are not owned or
maintained by Family Discovery.
This is merely a search engine that takes you directly to the information
skipping all the time consuming steps
This page does not necessarily contain a COMPLETE list of all online
information, but merely for which records have been currently located
online to compile this genealogical search engine.
We are still currently searching for records online to add to our linking
database. "

Laura Greene
Carlsbad, CA

(Below is the original message I received:
----- Original Message -----
> > From: Michelle Campbell
> > Sent: Monday, March 12, 2001 4:34 PM
> > To:
> > Subject: genealogy fraud
> >
> >
> > This is forwarded:
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > I received this on my Hill list at rootsweb thought I would
> pass it on, I
> have no personal knowledge of these people.
> >
> > I took a minute out of our volunteer typing time to check this site out.
> > http://www.familydiscovery.com/
> >
> > It is a fraudulent site because a membership gives you links to our
> > free sites. You do not have to pay to get to any site in USGenWeb
> > Right here, there is no charge to get to all the counties in USGenWeb.
> >
> > We are all hardworking volunteers to have genealogy information
> > free for researchers.
> >
> > I have found links to our Macoupin civil war rosters, censuses,
> > which we spent many hours of volunteer time now to have unknowing
> > researchers pay a membership to click on a link to view our work.
> > Macoupin County ILGenWeb volunteers have put over 1400 pages of
> > free information and continuing to work to get more pages up.
> >
> > If any person finds our complete work in their membership, please
> > notify me. Please pass this information onto any list. Let's try to
> > keep these ripoffs from making their pile of money from our
> > volunteer work.
> >
> > Please pass this onto any list you might be on. Hopefully, this
> > site will be removed soon if not sooner.
> >
> > Thanks for listening.
> >
> > Gloria
> > Steve Hill
> > Natchez, Ms.
> >
> >


==============================
Ancestry.com Genealogical Databases
http://www.ancestry.com/rd/rwlist2.asp
Search over 2500 databases with one easy query!


--------------89974BDF123549DE5F6BEABF--



This thread: