TMG-L Archives
Archiver > TMG > 2001-01 > 0979956776
From: Richard Brogger <>
Subject: Re: [TMG] Snow White Virus
Date: Fri, 19 Jan 2001 20:12:56 -0600
References: <5.0.2.1.0.20010119182104.0241dd80@mail.bicnet.net><3A68DA3A.AF4170E6@infoave.net> <024d01c0827c$ecdc73c0$d8d6d63f@oemcomputer>
All messages addressed to me are downloaded before I can
learn the name of the sender or the subject. Once it is
downloaded I can delete it, not before.
Most of the more harmful viruses are in an executable file
of some type but some viruses can infect without an
attachment. I read that those not in an executable file are
not the damaging ones that erase files or worse.
All I really know is that the best protection is stop and
think before opening an attachment. Often the message itself
is a clue. Some virues will use the persons email address
so you think it is from someone you know. You might ask
yourself how that person would spell words like; Snowhite,
mornign, promissed, and suddlently? Do they know the plural
of dwarf? Would they be sending something like that to you?
I do not know what "that" is but the wording gives me a
clue.
There are many sources on the web that can give far better
details than I can give, here are two.
http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/hybris.shtml
http://www.kaspersky.com/news.asp?tnews=0&nview=1&id=134&page=0
For more information about the Snowhite virus go to:
http://www.sexyfun.net/ (this is not a adult site of any
type) This site was setup to fight the virus as stated in a
message from this site. This site has many links to other
sites such as Symantec and if one followed all of them and
read all the material you would be an expert about virus /
worms and all the rest.
Richard Brogger
________________________________________________
Things you should know:
1.The current owner of the domain sexyfun.net, the
hosting company slowmoe.com, or
anyone affiliated with the these two did NOT
create the virus / worm.
This site WAS created in response to the virus /
worm.
2.Hopefully, this site will help you get rid of the
virus.
3.The domain was purchased on Dec-11-2000, this
virus was first reported on Sept-25-2000 (to my
knowledge)
4.This site is in no way affiliated with any other
site on the Internet, this includes sexyfun.com.
To make things perfectly clear: The virus is NOT coming
from us in any way. The return address has been
faked. In all likelihood the infected person doesn't
know they are infected, and is sending you the emails
unknowingly. If anyone remembers the LoveBug Virus,
then you understand. Please read the information below, I
hope you find it useful.
_________________________________________________
bd wrote:
>
> ??I don't understand
> 1. why do you need to download it?
> 2. Can't you just send it out via delete? I get this obnoxious bug
> sometimes 2-3 times a day and so far have just deleted it with - as far as
> I'm aware - no ill effects. 3. Someone has said that a virus can infect you
> even if you do not open the attachment. Elucidation?
>
> Of course there are many more things I don't understand, but this will do
> for now.
>
> Barbara Harris
>
> Richard wrote:
>
> Half the time when I get sent a copy it causes my ISP
> > to drop out and I have spent as much as an hour trying to
> > get Snowhite downloaded so I can receive my mail. I did not
> > open the attachment, it did no damage on my machine but it
> > has cost me a lot of time and all of us a lot of money.
> >
> > Richard Brogger
> >
> > Bob Geldart wrote:
> > >
> > > At 01:05 AM 1/19/2001, you wrote:
> > > >Fi-fi on that nasty person!!! May they burn in the world of crashed
> hard
> > > >disks and destroyed FATs.
> > >
> > > A little compassion.... In all likelihood, that person may not have
> > > realized what was happening, or even that it was sent from their
> machine.
> > >
> > > Bob Geldart
> > > Maynard, MA
> >
> >
This thread:
| Re: [TMG] Snow White Virus by Richard Brogger <> |