VTADDISO-L Archives
Archiver > VTADDISO > 2000-05 > 0957793442
From: "Pete and Joan Helm" <>
Subject: Re: [VTADDISO] Virus warning
Date: Mon, 8 May 2000 08:44:02 -0500
Susan and to everyone on list,
If you want to know how to stop your computer (for Windows users only)
from receiving this type of email (VBS attachements) go to following
site:
http://www.f-secure.com/virus-info/u-vbs/
It will tell you how to shut off the setting that allows your computer
to receive this virus. The directions are clear and concise, I did
this in less than 5 minutes. Please remember this is only for this
type of virus.
I receive a free daily newsletter put out by Chris Pirillo about
computer info, fun and reviews. He was right on top of this thing
when it came out with sites that could help you if you got the virus
like the one above. He always writes his newsletter for people like
me, computer dummies. If you are interested, you can subscribe at
http://lockergnome.com/ his website. I have subscribed for well over
a year now and have never received any unsolicited email, etc. from
this site.
Joan Hayward Helm
Still researching Chilon and Anna Hayward and their family in Addison
County, VT
----- Original Message -----
From: "Susan Laursen Willig" <>
To: <>
Sent: Saturday, May 06, 2000 5:24 AM
Subject: [VTADDISO] Virus warning
> Hi, everyone -
>
> Normally virus warnings are not welcome on this list, but this
situation
> seems to call for the making of an exception. The ILOVEYOU virus has
been
> wreaking havoc to the tune of now over a billion dollars. Roots Web
and the
> Gen Exchange are both working hard to battle the thing and make sure
it
> does not cause damage to any of our respective systems.
>
> It would be wise at present, if you receive an attachment of ANY
kind from
> ANYONE, to not open it. Be sure that your anti-virus software is
current
> (as of this week to combat this particular virus), and scan every
> attachment. Obviously, if it says ILOVEYOU, delete the message,
empty your
> trash bin, and for extra safety, run a scan on your whole system
again.
>
> If you think the message you received might be legitimate, then
write to
> the sender asking if he/she intended to send you the attachment in
> question. You cannot be too careful with this virus. It wipes out
all your
> photos and .wav files in addition to sending itself to everyone in
your
> address book.
>
> The following message from an ISP is concise and informative.
>
> * * * * * * * * *
*
> *
>
>
>
> ==== VTADDISO Mailing List ====
> Thanks for supporting Roots Web!
> http://www.rootsweb.com/rootsweb/how-to-subscribe.html
>
> ==============================
> Free Web space. ANY amount. ANY subject.
> RootsWeb's Freepages put you in touch with millions.
> http://cgi.rootsweb.com/cgi-bin/acctform.cgi
>
>
This thread:
| Re: [VTADDISO] Virus warning by "Pete and Joan Helm" <> |