WAFRANKL-L Archives
Archiver > WAFRANKL > 2001-04 > 0986576222
From: "Joe & Laura Schmidt" <>
Subject: [Franklin] FamilyDiscovery.com
Date: Fri, 6 Apr 2001 09:57:02 -0700
Hi,
I have been asked by many folks on the lists I maintain and through private
postings, what do I think of FamilyDiscovery.com. Well I decided to spread
the word to all of you. Please read below:
My opinion on FamilyDiscovery.com? Boy did you ask the right question!
STAY AWAY from FamilyDiscovery.com !!!! Check the following sites before
dealing with Family Discovery. They also include links to the Iowa Attorney
General's Office and the Federal Trade Commission. Here are a few links. I
could go on and on. FamilyDiscovery.com is nothing but links to free sites!
They are using free information that we volunteers have put online and
charging you for them! As for Joe and I, he is on "vacation" this week
helping me empty my folks home . Long story, but this is the most
disgusting , foulest smelling job you can ever imagine. We both still have
the cold and bronchial problems that have plagued us for the past 6 weeks.
Been on 3 different antibiotics. Got to head into town now with the rubber
gloves.
Laura
http://www.compuright.net/familydiscovery/
http://blacksheep.rootsweb.com/familydiscovery.htm
http://hometown.aol.com/vikkigray/parkcensus.htm
http://helpdesk.rootsweb.com/announce.html#familydiscovery
http://www.rfci.net/wdfloyd/GVMeth.html
http://www.iltrails.org/Coles/1850wabash.html
The info below comes from DearMyrtle at
http://www.dearmyrtle.com/01/0108.htm
----------------------------------------------------
FAMILYDISCOVERY.COM
Date: Sun, 07 Jan 2001 10:09:52 -0800
From: Dan and Laurie Isdell
To:
Message-Id: <>
Subject: Re: FamilyDiscovery.com
"Carole Hammond" <> wrote:
> Does anyone know anything about this site? Can you get anything on
> this that you can't already find on Ancestry or FTM or
> FamilySearch.com? Is it worth the special $49/year fee?
Hi Carole and others,
>From what I've been reading, they're bad news. They link to
otherwise free sites and have no original material of their own.
The worst part is that they've been lifting people's genealogy data
and then charging for it. They are being sued.
Here's something that another list moderator just sent us:
FAMILYDISCOVERY.COM (THEY'RE BACK)
It had to happen. We knew they wouldn't be gone for long...
To those of you who are new to genealogy computing:
FamilyDiscovery.com
is a company with a website that you might want to avoid at all
costs. They are rip-offs, will take your money and give you nothing
in return.
Additionally, they are selling FREE material to the tune of $69.00 a
year. They link their pages to Rootsweb and US GenWeb-site pages ~
all of which offer free genealogy material. Additionally, they are
linking to private Web sites without permission.
FamilyDiscovery.com is currently being investigated.
UPDATE: I can only presume the word got around too well regarding
their first name, Family Discovery, because they now have a new name
~ GenSeeker. I've been to this new site and seen what they're up
to. When clicking on their "freesearch link," the unwary customer
is taken to the FamilyDiscovery.com site.
Gene Olson has started an Anti-FamilyDiscovery.com update list from
his website. As you may have guessed, he IS still on their trail
and it's thanks to Gene that I have this update to pass on to you.
You newbies both to genealogy and computing would be wise to go to
his site and read up on this company so you won't be ripped off.
Click on the following link and you'll be taken directly to his
site: http://www.compuright.net/familydiscovery . Gene's new email
address is . His toll-free number is
1-877-319-9699.
And if you are in doubt, here, read their own fine print!
http://www.familydiscovery.com/refund.htm
This thread:
| [Franklin] FamilyDiscovery.com by "Joe & Laura Schmidt" <> |